Become A Member


You can join anytime!

Membership in the Spirit of St. Louis Women's Fund is open and inclusive. You do not have to wait for an event to join.


Membership Pledge

Members pledge $1200 annually. 


For more information

Please call or email Wendy Witte
at The St. Louis
Community Foundation.
wwitte@stlgives.org
314.880.4962

 

 

 

Join Now!

Thank you for your interest in SOS. Become a member today!


SOS is part of a powerful movement in philanthropy today: collective giving. Leverage your charitable dollars and join us in making grants to St. Louis area non profits working with critical needs in the community. SOS is proof that when women unite, incredible things happen. Our organization shows what is possible in local communities when impassioned women share their knowledge, skills and funds for their community. Deeply engaged in learning about the critical needs in St. Louis, we’re just as enthusiastic about addressing them and enriching the lives of the people that live here.

Giving over $2 million since 2007!

If you wish to get more involved, we encourage you to join one of the several committees that help keep SOS focused and thriving:

  • Membership:
  • Organizes social events designed to attract new members. Time commitment is 5-6 committee meetings with most work via email, phone and volunteering at events. 
    Co-Chairs - Marianne Baer, membership engagement, marebaer@earthlink.net; Pam Lee, membership events, pamhikes@yahoo.com; Barb Bindler, membership events, bgbindler@aol.com; Joni Karandjeff, membership coordinator, jonik13@sbcglobal.net
  • Education:
  • Plans informative programs about community needs and philanthropic opportunities. Time commitment is 3-4 committee meetings with most work via email, phone and volunteering at education events. 
    Co-Chairs - Caroli Young, caroli@n2itco.com; Lee Anne Quatrano, lquatrano@gmail.com
  • Impact:
  • Evaluates how well our grantees use our money. Time commitment is 2-3 committee meetings with evaluations completed via email and phone work. 
    Chair -  Patricia Allen, jonalle@sbcglobal.net
  • Grants:
  • Processes grant proposals (LOI's) and organizes members’ visits to applicants; determines ballot. Time commitment includes: for LOI’s - 1-2 committee meetings with most work completed via email and phone. For Site Visit Teams – 1-2 committee meetings, 5-6 site visits
    Chairs - Berta James, bertajames@outlook.com; Jo Ann Sanditz, jasanditz@aol.com
  • Communications & Marketing:
    • Oversees media and public relations and SOS publications and builds awareness of SOS through social media and marketing opportunities with a time commitment of monthly meetings and various communications duties as needed. 
      Chair - Christine Schmiz, chris.schmiz@mac.com; Elizabeth Schmidt, Vice Chair, iamelizabeths@gmail.com
    • Treasurer & Finance:
    • Tracks SOS’s budget and reviews grant applicants’ financial statements with time commitment includes a Grant Review - 1-2 committee meetings with most work via email, phone. Treasurer attends board meetings. 
      Treasurer - Cathy Carney, cisc2058@aol.com; Madeleine Creehan,vice chair, mcreehan@bamadvisor.com
      Finance Chair - Jane Tracy, jane_h@msn.com
    • Technology:
    • Keeps this website fresh, lively and inviting; provides website liaisons to committees and time commitment is 2-3 committee meetings with training as needed 
      Chair - Amy Garrison, amy.garrison@brandvirtuellc.com, Jacqueline Byrne, vice-chair, jacquelinectravis@yahoo.com